Welcome Guest Login or Signup
LIVE CHAT | INSTANT MESSENGER | BOOKMARK

FORUM
New guy from central ohio
Total Views: 730 - Total Replies: 0
Oct 07 2013, 5:19 am - By Doug

I'm not officially in an RV and on a nomadic path just yet, but it's looking more and more like the direction I am going to go at least for a while.

I had initially wanted to do the live aboard sailboat but I see myself having to make too many compromises based on how much boat I can afford.. a 37 foot boat would do what I want, but a 27 footer is more in my price range, and even those would require some extensive refitting before it would be a suitable home. The upside is that once its in the water, wind is free.

I've been looking at RVs for about 6 months, and in my area I have seen a couple largish pace arrows (70s models) that look promising, I have 15+ years of auto & truck tech experience, as well as basic construction, electric and plumbing skills, so an older fixer-upper is ideal for me, so long as its not too far gone.

For me the desire to live the nomad's life is nothing new, I spent a couple years as a teen travelling (hitch hiking mostly) and have spent a lifetime motorcycling and bicycling. I have and am comfortable with wanderlust.

I'm at a point in my life where there just isn't much of anything tying me to one spot. I think it's the 1st time in 20 years I didn't have a great job, or a girlfriend, or anything really to hold me down. Instead, for the last 12 mos life has been in an almost constant upheaval that's found me living with a roomate, with 95% of my stuff in a storage unit. I just found out yesterday that my roomie is moving in with his girlfriend and I have 30 days to vacate.