FORUM
Main Forum Index » Nomad, Vagabond, Call Me What You Will
Sub-Forum General Discussions
Topic Florida Driver's License/Residency
Florida Driver's License/Residency
Total Views: 1858 - Total Replies: 6
Nov 17 2011, 6:20 pm - By zdaudert

Hi Everyone -

First, I'm really excited to discover this forum!

I am a Colorado resident who is now travelling full-time so I'd like to change my residency state from Colorado to Florida for a variety of reasons. I'm in the process of transfering all my business and other activities to Flordia. I have a small business in Colorado (LLC) that will remain but I'll also be doing work as a sole proprietor based out of Florida. Eventually all my accounts/affairs/etc. will be Florida-based and I will vote there, etc.

My question relates to getting a driver's license in Florida (exchanging my Colorado license). To do this, Florida requires 2 documents that prove a "residential address". I will be using one of the many mail forwarding services in Miami for mail but this address apparently does not work with the Florida DMV who told me on the phone that if I use a service like that the company would have to complete a "Certification of Address" form (linked below) and also provide documentation of their address (utility bills/etc.) similar to what I would provide if it were my actual physical address. However, I've found that the companies that provide mail forwarding services don't want to do that.

Has any gone through this? If so, how did you handle having a Florida residential address when you're actually on the road/on the go?

Thanks!

Zach

FreeCampsites.net - Your source for free camping locations
Nov 18 2011, 3:02 am - Replied by: LiveWorkDream

Hi Zach, welcome!

Just curious why you chose Florida over other tax-free states?