LIVE CHAT | INSTANT MESSENGER | BOOKMARK

FORUM
Main Forum Index » Nomad, Vagabond, Call Me What You Will
Sub-Forum Making a Living
Topic High Speed Internet and Phone for RV
High Speed Internet and Phone for RV
Total Views: 2077 - Total Replies: 6
Jul 31 2010, 2:18 am - By DHanna

I am a self-employed sales professional that makes a living on my phone/computer from a home-based office.  5 years ago I left the corporate rat-race and love the freedom of working from home. Now I am interested in taking my dream to the next level and work from an RV. The biggest hurdle that I am finding is the ability to have reliable high-speed internet access.  I need to be able to utiliz VOIP for unlimited phone service and also share lots of computer files with my clients.  I really need reliable high speed internet. 

I believe satellite is my best option, but the equipment and service are VERY expensive.  Anyone have suggestions?  I am wondering if I need to put my dream off for 5 years so that technology and price can improve.

Remote Income E-book packed with Resources
Jul 31 2010, 3:28 am - Replied by: LiveWorkDream

Hey welcome to the tribe!

We've had our HughesNet/MotoSat system since 2007. Specs are here. Yeah, not cheap but we wouldn't have it any other way. I'm not the techie here but DH is and he can tell you more about the pitfalls and advantages (MANY) of the system. However, VOIP is not one of them. Satellite has too much latency. We can't even Skype with it.

So you ask, why did we shell out the doh? Because we go off grid 90 percent of the time, stay in remote areas where there's no phone signals whatsoever. The dish can't be beat for going far away from civilization, all over North America, Canada and Mexico. No roaming charges with it whatsoever. Just ask Sean and Louise.